The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Have Been Announced, See Who’s On the List

Share Story To Social Media

Back in April on a special episode of American Idol, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2024 was officially announced. This special honor is not just for recording artist, but producers, sideman, and record executives as well.

To be eligible for induction, an artist must have a 25-year recording career. Some artists are nominated and inducted in their first-year of eligibility. Others, (like one of this year’s honoree’s) received their first nomination 30 years after their first year of eligibility. Everyone that is eligible and nominated do not always make the cut which include the late Sinead O’Connor, British R&B singer Sade, rocker Lenny Kravitz, Mariah Carey, and Eric B & Rakim.

Of the 16 inductees, half of them were influential in the Urban markets over the past 7+ decades. The inductees are broken down into four categories including Performers, Musical Excellence, Musical Influence, and the Ahmet Ertegun Award.


The Queen of Hip-Hop Soul, Mary J Blige, was Uptown Records first female artist signed to the label. She earned a Grammy for “Be Without You”, an Emmy for her 2022 NFL Superbowl performance, and has been nominated for two Oscar Awards.

3rd times a charm for one of the most unique Hip-Hop groups of all time, A Tribe Called Quest. As members of the Native Tongues rap collective, they merged drum beats and jazz samples to bring Alternative Hip-Hop to the forefront in the 1990s.

A Tribe Called Quest
Kool & The Gang

It’s a celebration as Kool & the Gang finally takes its rightful place in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame after being eligible for the honor for 30 years. Their timeless number one smash hit “Celebration,” has been one of the most played songs at special events since its release in 1980.

Other performers inducted include songstress Cher, The Dave Matthews Band, guitarist Peter Frampton, British Rock Band Foreigner, and for the second time, front man Ozzy Osbourne. His band Black Sabbath was inducted back in since 2006.


Dionne Warwick was one of the most successful female vocalist in the 1960s. Teaming with Burt Bachrach & Hal David, she released some of the most covered songs in popular music history including “Walk On By,” “Don’t Make Me Over,” and “I Say a Little Prayer.” She’s won several awards including four Grammy’s. The late great 2020 inductee Whitney Houston is Warwick’s cousin.


One of Motown Records leading writers and producers, Norman Whitfield, is the mastermind behind hit songs from several headlining acts including Gladys Knight & the Pips, Marvin Gaye, and his main project the Temptations. Whitfield also created the classic soundtrack to the film “Car Wash” performed by Rose Royce.

The late Jimmy Buffett, and the hard rock band, MC5 also received the Musical Excellence Award.


One of Elvis Presley’s signature tunes was originally done by Willie Mae “Big Mama” Thornton. It was her only hit record on the Peacock Label, but an important one. “Hound Dog” was one of the first songs with overly sexualized lyrics from a woman’s point of view.

Big Mama Thornton was also present when tragedy struck on Christmas Day in 1954. In between sets while performing in Houston, Texas, fellow Peacock Records performer Johnny Ace accidentally took his own life with a revolver he was carrying. Rumors began circulating that his death may have been the result of a game of Russian roulette.

English musician John Mayall and British Bluesman Alexis Korner rounded out the Musical Influence Awards category.

Willie Mae “Big Mama” Thornton
John Mayall
Alexis Korner


Leading female executive Suzanne de Passe’s first big break was persuading Berry Gordy to sign the Jackson 5 to Motown Records in 1968. Her other additions to the Motown roster include The Commodores, Rick James, Teena Marie, and DeBarge. Passe co-wrote the film “Lady Sings the Blues” and is the only woman of color ever nominated for best original screenplay. She has won an Emmy Award for the highly rated 1983 television special, Motown 25.

Suzanne de Passe

The 39th Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony takes place on Saturday, October 19th, in Cleveland, Ohio and will be broadcast on ABC network.